THOMAS BECKET CATHOLIC SCHOOL - Local School Committee Members 

Should you wish to contact the school committee governors you can do so via the Clerk, Mrs. Teresa Elkin via email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. ;or alternatively the main school office on 01604 493211 or via email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. and a member of the school committee will contact you in due course.

Local School Committee

  • Chair of the Local School Committee – Chris Atkin
  • Headteacher – Mr Ciran Stapleton
  • Governor – Catherine McCarron (Trust Board Director)
  • Governor – Chris Atkin (Trust Board Director)
  • Governor – David Barreau
  • Clerk to the School Committee – Mrs. Teresa Elkin

If you are interested in being involved in the governance of the school please speak to the Headteacher.

From 1st April 2016, St. Gregory’s Catholic Primary School, along with The Good Shepherd and St. Mary’s Primary School and Thomas Becket Secondary School is governed by St. Thomas of Canterbury Catholic Academy Trust (STCCAT).

Trust Board 

Mr. David Williams MBE JP (Chair) with experience in business management and school governance;

Mrs. Catherine McCarron, with experience of the Further Education Sector;

Mr. Chris Atkin, experience as a Headteacher and many years working in the Catholic Diocese;

Mrs. Collette Curtis Director of School Development, Northampton Diocese;

Mr. Tim Redding -  Secretary to the Board with experience in finance as the Diocesan Financial Secretary;

Mr. Adrian Lee - a retired Chief Constable of police, experienced in organisational management and performance;

Ms. Catherine Leong – with litigation and commercial business experience

Mrs Teresa Elkin Clerk to the Trust Board.

“Any change to move to academy status brings many questions. At the same time it also opens up many opportunities for us all and for the future of Catholic education in Northampton town. Our sincere conviction is that moving to academy status will ensure a successful future for each of the schools in the Trust, working together in partnership.

We will work in collaboration with the head teachers if the schools, supported by Maxine Clewlow as our educational lead in the first few months of transition. Each school will also have a local governing committee sharing in the school’s day to day running with the headteacher, leadership team and staff. We will build on all that so may people have contributed to our schools over recent years as staff, governors, members of the IEB and advisors. Now we look positively to a secure future for us all.”  Monsignor Kevin McGinnell.

If you are interested in being involved in governance of any of the schools please speak to the headteacher of your school.

If you require any further information please email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Scheme of Delegation

Please refer to the MAT and Governor Documents shown on the side of this page.

The template for the scheme of delegation and policies are under review.  For all policies which refer to the local governing body please read School Committee. Until the review has concluded any discrepancy between them will be resolved by the Trust board.

MAT and Governor Documents

Our Prospectus